The Fantasy Art of Oliver Frey - Thalamus Books

Talk about the staff who used to work on the mag
User avatar
Lloyd Mangram
King of Ludlow
Posts: 1149
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 10:22 pm
Location: Ludlow
Contact:

Post by Lloyd Mangram »

CraigGrannell wrote:
Wizball 87 wrote:But "2006"???? :shock: Whats all THAT about?!?!
Books take time to create, design and edit. Even the stuff I write, which is very straightforward design-wise, takes something like six months to get to market.
Yeah, even the stuff I write, even if it's only 64 pages, takes about six months to get to market. :D :wink:
It's horrible!
Once again I emerge from beneath a massive pile of paper which makes my desk groan to bring you the world’s most amazing posts.
Wizball 87
Techno Teaboy
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:22 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by Wizball 87 »

Nahh.....i aint knocking the amount of time it takes, effort it requires, etc - i can appreciate that totally. I'm just FAR too impatient when there's something cooking up THAT good i want SO badly! *slams fist on the counter* I want things NOW dammit!! :lol:

Ps, Can anyone recommend any decent anger management courses?? :lol: :lol:
User avatar
Iain
Admin
Posts: 2192
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Iain »

Mr.Zzapback wrote:
Removed the big one, removed the big one??
You removed MY terribly ace cover ok! :wink:

Arr! 8)
Don't be getting your knickers in a twist Mr. Zzapback! your one is still at the top, just not in his quoted message! ;-)
User avatar
Iain
Admin
Posts: 2192
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Iain »

Wizball 87 wrote: Ps, Can anyone recommend any decent anger management courses?? :lol: :lol:
Typing in lots of reviews and features for this website! ;-)
User avatar
Lloyd Mangram
King of Ludlow
Posts: 1149
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 10:22 pm
Location: Ludlow
Contact:

Post by Lloyd Mangram »

Wizball 87 wrote:
Ps, Can anyone recommend any decent anger management courses?? :lol: :lol:
Get yourself into some sort of silly project called the DEF Tribute to...and letting it gobble up six months of your life. :wink:

I've heard rumours people are looking forward to a DEF Tribute to Commodore Computing International, so you're welcome! 8)

Btw, getting back on topic, before I get banned :)

The Art of Oliver Frey takes so much time (until spring 2006) because lots of Oli's artwork need to be professionally scanned in, (Lots of art seems to be lost as well) and I heard from Roger Kean that Oli's in the hospital at the moment as well, not good for this project either. Hopefully he's doing fine, and be back soon.
Fans of Oli and Kean always have the October release of that book about the Roman empire to look out for.
More about that soon.
Once again I emerge from beneath a massive pile of paper which makes my desk groan to bring you the world’s most amazing posts.
mjwilson
Techno Teaboy
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 3:58 pm

Post by mjwilson »

Just heard from Roger that the page is now up on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1902886062/
User avatar
Lloyd Mangram
King of Ludlow
Posts: 1149
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 10:22 pm
Location: Ludlow
Contact:

Post by Lloyd Mangram »

Cool, thanx.
He told me about it, but it wasn't there yet, a couple of days ago.

Here's the other onetoo.
Once again I emerge from beneath a massive pile of paper which makes my desk groan to bring you the world’s most amazing posts.
User avatar
Gazunta
Ken's Fishy Friend
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 11:34 pm

Post by Gazunta »

Mr.Zzapback wrote: I've heard rumours people are looking forward to a DEF Tribute to Commodore Computing International, so you're welcome! 8)
Actually, I'd really like that :)

(grabs his coat)
Wizball 87
Techno Teaboy
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:22 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by Wizball 87 »

According to Amazon, tomorrow's the big day! Im VERY excited about this release.......can't wait to get my copy. Oliver Frey's work has long been admired here.

Anyone else got their order in??
User avatar
POB 72
Techno Teaboy
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 11:48 pm
Location: London

Post by POB 72 »

Wizball 87 wrote:According to Amazon, tomorrow's the big day! Im VERY excited about this release.......can't wait to get my copy. Oliver Frey's work has long been admired here.

Anyone else got their order in??
I'll definitely put it on my Amazon wish list. I've got a wedding anniversary coming up so the wife can get it for me.

It will perfectly complement the C64 Direct to TV joystick that I'm getting for her. I can just see the tears of joy welling up in her eyes now as she rips open the wrapping paper.
User avatar
Iain
Admin
Posts: 2192
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Iain »

Wizball 87 wrote:According to Amazon, tomorrow's the big day! Im VERY excited about this release.......can't wait to get my copy. Oliver Frey's work has long been admired here.
Er, must be a mistake, the release is down for the beginning of April, unless they have finished everything VERY early. Amazon's release dates seem to somewhat flexible at best.
mjwilson
Techno Teaboy
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 3:58 pm

Post by mjwilson »

Amazon seem to have this on sale now ("usually dispatched within 1 to 4 weeks" though).
User avatar
Lloyd Mangram
King of Ludlow
Posts: 1149
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 10:22 pm
Location: Ludlow
Contact:

Post by Lloyd Mangram »

Hi,
I ordered the book last week, but I got a message from Amazon that the release was delayed with 4/6 weeks, so...
Once again I emerge from beneath a massive pile of paper which makes my desk groan to bring you the world’s most amazing posts.
User avatar
Iain
Admin
Posts: 2192
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Iain »

Well according to Roger, Thalamus has now received the book shipments and are in the process of sorting out the distribution, so Amazon should be getting the book in a few days.

The Fantasy Art of Oliver Frey Book page on Amazon
robin hogg
Techno Teaboy
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 11:07 pm
Location: Midlands

Post by robin hogg »

Hi all,

I was in Game recently, just browsing and I spotted Burnout: Legends on the PS2 or XBox or some such console.

Is it me or does the artwork look very much like an Oil Frey piece? Similar dynamic style (car coming at the viewer, another car spinning through the air). If it's not an Oli Frey piece then it is a VERY similar style. Anyone else seen this artwork?

Regards
Robin 'Pig in a Poke' Hogg
Ex ZZAP!
Post Reply