The Def Guide to Zzap!64

The Zzap Rrap

It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:18 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 1:30 pm 
Offline
King of Ludlow
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 10:22 pm
Posts: 1137
Location: Ludlow
CraigGrannell wrote:
Wizball 87 wrote:
But "2006"???? :shock: Whats all THAT about?!?!


Books take time to create, design and edit. Even the stuff I write, which is very straightforward design-wise, takes something like six months to get to market.


Yeah, even the stuff I write, even if it's only 64 pages, takes about six months to get to market. :D :wink:
It's horrible!

_________________
Once again I emerge from beneath a massive pile of paper which makes my desk groan to bring you the world’s most amazing posts.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 2:23 pm 
Offline
Techno Teaboy

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 19
Location: London, UK
Nahh.....i aint knocking the amount of time it takes, effort it requires, etc - i can appreciate that totally. I'm just FAR too impatient when there's something cooking up THAT good i want SO badly! *slams fist on the counter* I want things NOW dammit!! :lol:

Ps, Can anyone recommend any decent anger management courses?? :lol: :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:34 pm 
Offline
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Posts: 2103
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Mr.Zzapback wrote:
Quote:
Removed the big one, removed the big one??
You removed MY terribly ace cover ok! :wink:

Arr! 8)


Don't be getting your knickers in a twist Mr. Zzapback! your one is still at the top, just not in his quoted message! ;-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:35 pm 
Offline
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Posts: 2103
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Wizball 87 wrote:
Ps, Can anyone recommend any decent anger management courses?? :lol: :lol:


Typing in lots of reviews and features for this website! ;-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:34 pm 
Offline
King of Ludlow
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 10:22 pm
Posts: 1137
Location: Ludlow
Wizball 87 wrote:

Ps, Can anyone recommend any decent anger management courses?? :lol: :lol:


Get yourself into some sort of silly project called the DEF Tribute to...and letting it gobble up six months of your life. :wink:

I've heard rumours people are looking forward to a DEF Tribute to Commodore Computing International, so you're welcome! 8)

Btw, getting back on topic, before I get banned :)

The Art of Oliver Frey takes so much time (until spring 2006) because lots of Oli's artwork need to be professionally scanned in, (Lots of art seems to be lost as well) and I heard from Roger Kean that Oli's in the hospital at the moment as well, not good for this project either. Hopefully he's doing fine, and be back soon.
Fans of Oli and Kean always have the October release of that book about the Roman empire to look out for.
More about that soon.

_________________
Once again I emerge from beneath a massive pile of paper which makes my desk groan to bring you the world’s most amazing posts.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 6:09 pm 
Offline
Techno Teaboy

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 3:58 pm
Posts: 4
Just heard from Roger that the page is now up on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1902886062/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 8:30 pm 
Offline
King of Ludlow
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 10:22 pm
Posts: 1137
Location: Ludlow
Cool, thanx.
He told me about it, but it wasn't there yet, a couple of days ago.

Here's the other onetoo.

_________________
Once again I emerge from beneath a massive pile of paper which makes my desk groan to bring you the world’s most amazing posts.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 8:41 am 
Offline
Ken's Fishy Friend
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 11:34 pm
Posts: 45
Mr.Zzapback wrote:
I've heard rumours people are looking forward to a DEF Tribute to Commodore Computing International, so you're welcome! 8)


Actually, I'd really like that :)

(grabs his coat)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:21 pm 
Offline
Techno Teaboy

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 19
Location: London, UK
According to Amazon, tomorrow's the big day! Im VERY excited about this release.......can't wait to get my copy. Oliver Frey's work has long been admired here.

Anyone else got their order in??


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 8:51 pm 
Offline
Techno Teaboy
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 11:48 pm
Posts: 8
Location: London
Wizball 87 wrote:
According to Amazon, tomorrow's the big day! Im VERY excited about this release.......can't wait to get my copy. Oliver Frey's work has long been admired here.

Anyone else got their order in??


I'll definitely put it on my Amazon wish list. I've got a wedding anniversary coming up so the wife can get it for me.

It will perfectly complement the C64 Direct to TV joystick that I'm getting for her. I can just see the tears of joy welling up in her eyes now as she rips open the wrapping paper.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:02 am 
Offline
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Posts: 2103
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Wizball 87 wrote:
According to Amazon, tomorrow's the big day! Im VERY excited about this release.......can't wait to get my copy. Oliver Frey's work has long been admired here.


Er, must be a mistake, the release is down for the beginning of April, unless they have finished everything VERY early. Amazon's release dates seem to somewhat flexible at best.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:22 pm 
Offline
Techno Teaboy

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 3:58 pm
Posts: 4
Amazon seem to have this on sale now ("usually dispatched within 1 to 4 weeks" though).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:03 pm 
Offline
King of Ludlow
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 10:22 pm
Posts: 1137
Location: Ludlow
Hi,
I ordered the book last week, but I got a message from Amazon that the release was delayed with 4/6 weeks, so...

_________________
Once again I emerge from beneath a massive pile of paper which makes my desk groan to bring you the world’s most amazing posts.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:59 pm 
Offline
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Posts: 2103
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Well according to Roger, Thalamus has now received the book shipments and are in the process of sorting out the distribution, so Amazon should be getting the book in a few days.

The Fantasy Art of Oliver Frey Book page on Amazon


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 11:34 pm 
Offline
Techno Teaboy

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 11:07 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Midlands
Hi all,

I was in Game recently, just browsing and I spotted Burnout: Legends on the PS2 or XBox or some such console.

Is it me or does the artwork look very much like an Oil Frey piece? Similar dynamic style (car coming at the viewer, another car spinning through the air). If it's not an Oli Frey piece then it is a VERY similar style. Anyone else seen this artwork?

Regards

_________________
Robin 'Pig in a Poke' Hogg
Ex ZZAP!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group