ZZAP site URL

Everything else about Zzap
Post Reply
User avatar
andy vaisey
Director
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:15 pm
Location: Cymru
Contact:

ZZAP site URL

Post by andy vaisey »

I run Avast AV on my laptop and for some reason Avast (the company) has blacklisted the ZZAP site URL. I can only post this by disabling AV. Merman reports being able to access the site using his iPad.

Been like this for a day now.

Iain, you may want to look into this because your URL has been blacklisted by Avast for some reason!
User avatar
andy vaisey
Director
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:15 pm
Location: Cymru
Contact:

Re: ZZAP site URL

Post by andy vaisey »

Posting this from my tablet without any issue.

Any computer I try with Avast AV on blocks access to the site...
User avatar
Waz
Techno Teaboy
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:01 am
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: ZZAP site URL

Post by Waz »

Appears that AVG is blocking it as well (Avast own them, so probably using same intelligence)

My work laptop with Sophos is seeing it fine though.
Warren Pilkington (Waz)
Former Zzap! 64, CF and HVSC Contributor
Flickr! - http://www.flickr.com/photos/zawtowers/
Twitter: @zawtowers
RichH6109
Freelancer
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:45 pm

Re: ZZAP site URL

Post by RichH6109 »

Same here. No access from desktop/laptop (with Avast) but mobile totally OK.
User avatar
Iain
Admin
Posts: 2185
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Contact:

Re: ZZAP site URL

Post by Iain »

Thanks for the info guys. I'll look into it. Hopefully the site hasn't gotten infected. I'll check that on my Windows partition with Norton.
User avatar
Iain
Admin
Posts: 2185
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Contact:

Re: ZZAP site URL

Post by Iain »

Google doesn't mark it when searching for zzap64 through them.

I also checked the URL at virustotal.com and all packages come back with clean for the zzap64.co.uk URL, so that's good. AVAST doesn't seem to be on their list.

I still have more checking to do...
User avatar
Iain
Admin
Posts: 2185
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Contact:

Re: ZZAP site URL

Post by Iain »

Norton doesn't have a problem with it. I am also downloading the whole site and scanning it, just to make sure nothing nasty has been added to it. So many files with dates of 20+ years ago! :-D

--update--

Norton and Malwarebytes didn't find anything in the files, so that's great. I'll see if there is anyway to submit a review of a site to Avast...
User avatar
Iain
Admin
Posts: 2185
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Contact:

Re: ZZAP site URL

Post by Iain »

I have submitted the site to https://www.avast.com/en-us/false-posit ... e-form.php so let's see if anything comes of that.

What message does AVAST say exactly when you try to visit the site with it running?
RichH6109
Freelancer
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:45 pm

Re: ZZAP site URL

Post by RichH6109 »

Iain wrote:I have submitted the site to https://www.avast.com/en-us/false-posit ... e-form.php so let's see if anything comes of that.

What message does AVAST say exactly when you try to visit the site with it running?
There was a blacklist popup on my machine. It's gone now.
User avatar
Iain
Admin
Posts: 2185
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Contact:

Re: ZZAP site URL

Post by Iain »

Did you whitelist the site or is AVAST just not blocking the site any more? (Hopefully the latter) :)
User avatar
andy vaisey
Director
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:15 pm
Location: Cymru
Contact:

Re: ZZAP site URL

Post by andy vaisey »

Iain wrote:Did you whitelist the site or is AVAST just not blocking the site any more? (Hopefully the latter) :)
Avast no longer blocking here! PHEW! Gota get my ZZAP! fix!
User avatar
Iain
Admin
Posts: 2185
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Contact:

Re: ZZAP site URL

Post by Iain »

Em, I wonder if my submission did the trick (it was quick if so) or just co-incidence.

Anyway, good that it's not being blocked and even better that there was no malware either!
Post Reply