The Def Guide to Zzap!64

The Zzap Rrap

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:24 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 11:04 am 
Offline
King of Zzap Towers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 605
Location: UK
Regarding T2, the version I have runs fine on my emulator. Try downloading a different version.

Quote:
the other day i was in the library checking out issue 108.


Maybe the librarian was just surprised at seeing 108, as we've not yet created it! ;)

_________________
http://www.craiggrannell.com | http://www.projectnoise.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 5:29 pm 
Offline
Freelancer

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 5:17 am
Posts: 69
Location: AUSTRALIA
i was waiting for that

ok >>>>> issue :oops: 107>>>Craig, i thought it would be you who would pounce ( like a hungry panther ) on me for that one

checking out 107? :arrow: tryed to do the same here at home but instead i got a asked if i wanted to download instead>>> 4 hours of download as apposed to quikley veiwing two pages at a time>>>theyf__kyyouatthedrivethrough...
same place >>diffarant product? :?

OH and by the way, the guy who installed my pc came round today and dropped of the new monitor.. noticed the emulator programme sitting in my recieved files directory and promptly told me that if i got cought using any type of emulator, the warranty would be VOID>>what do you think of that?

I have a rather large Pittbull but im still waiting for the slow techy to deliver the scanner :roll:

_________________
Tentatively clicks SUBMIT and cringes..oh well, If you can handle C64 you can take a joke.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 5:45 pm 
Offline
King of Zzap Towers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 605
Location: UK
Heh heh. Sorry for "pouncing"! :)

Re: 107, I guess you grabbed the PDF, rather than the JPEGs. The theyf??youatthedrivethrough thing is for the printed version.

As for the guy who said your warranty would be void if you used an emulator, he's either ignorant, or a wind-up merchant.

_________________
http://www.craiggrannell.com | http://www.projectnoise.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 6:00 pm 
Offline
Freelancer

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 5:17 am
Posts: 69
Location: AUSTRALIA
my ol 'man calles him a "charleton"

_________________
Tentatively clicks SUBMIT and cringes..oh well, If you can handle C64 you can take a joke.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 12:03 pm 
Offline
Freelancer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 5:00 pm
Posts: 72
seanbags wrote:
promptly told me that if i got cought using any type of emulator, the warranty would be VOID>>what do you think of that?

I'd have told him "Sorry, you've mistaken me for someone with 'Thick F*ck#r' written on his head"

Did you solve the Joystick problem in the end?

_________________
http://www.mastertronic.net


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 12:47 pm 
Offline
Freelancer

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 5:17 am
Posts: 69
Location: AUSTRALIA
yep got the joystick workin on a couple of games
im happy with this for the time being
looks like im going to have to download T2 and others from others sites for better copys.

what im finding the hardest now is getting past cirtain points in the loading process in some games>>example>> all these downloaded games have the hackers cheats which is nice if Im feeling lazy but they seem to be the biggest hurdle at the moment in actually getting into the game.

infy lives? n
infy health?n
blah blah? n
blah blah? n
blah blah? n
unlimited weapons? y
blah blah? n

(press space or fire) but then space or fire dosent work nor any other button...>>tis a bit of an anticlimax after the intro screens

I guess this problem is also a dodgy download thing.

In short, Emulators require ALOT of trial and error!

sean's handy hint for new emulator users :arrow: Expect the worst so the good things come as a surprise. Dont get your hopes up

_________________
Tentatively clicks SUBMIT and cringes..oh well, If you can handle C64 you can take a joke.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 2:16 pm 
Offline
Director
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 8:19 am
Posts: 460
Location: United Kingdom, Hartlepool
I know it might be a bit obvious but...
Sometimes you have to wait for a good bit after the hackers screen or press SPACE.
?

_________________
Contributor to Def Tribute to ZZAP!
Compilation64 - http://compilation64.zzap64.co.uk/
Crazy about the C64? - www.lemon64.com
Amiga Anguish? - www.lemonamiga.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 3:22 pm 
Offline
Freelancer

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 5:17 am
Posts: 69
Location: AUSTRALIA
key word>>>>>"sometimes" LeeT

also>using the 1541 at maximum speed is a real doozie>>>got payed today and decided not to spend my Doll money on cigaretts.. i think the speedy 1541 was a real deterant.

LeeT>> Do you think having this option turned on in whilst waiting after these dodgy hacker screens could help in the decision making process?

ive found so far that if it is turned on, you can tell soon enough if there is any progress happening

_________________
Tentatively clicks SUBMIT and cringes..oh well, If you can handle C64 you can take a joke.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2003 11:31 pm 
Offline
Techno Teaboy
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 12:24 am
Posts: 8
Location: Sheffield, UK
CCS64 in my book is by far the best....BUT, Frodo on the GamePark GP32 wins hands down. http://www.gp32emu.com/

I never imagined that in the future I`d be sat on the toilet playing Hawkeye on a pocket C64! :P Wicked :P
Only down side is - Compatability with the various Rom formats out there. Tends to be a little picky. But then again, whos complaining? :)

Oh, theres also frodo for the Nokia 3650!
Photo here: http://images.geocomm.com/images/nokia/3650_10.jpg

Yep I realise this has got nothing to do with the current conversation, but I had to air my view. :wink:

_________________
Eeeee Heeee, Shamone Mofo !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 12:03 am 
Offline
Director
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 8:19 am
Posts: 460
Location: United Kingdom, Hartlepool
I am about to take delivery of a GP32, which will (hopefully) have a full range of emulators and games on the SMC - I agree that it will be great to play the games on a handheld, as opposed to sitting at either the PC or the C64!

_________________
Contributor to Def Tribute to ZZAP!
Compilation64 - http://compilation64.zzap64.co.uk/
Crazy about the C64? - www.lemon64.com
Amiga Anguish? - www.lemonamiga.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 2:37 am 
Offline
Freelancer

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 5:17 am
Posts: 69
Location: AUSTRALIA
mmm yes> i guess this is my ultimate c64 dream.

I see the gamboy advance sp in the shops and all the cool games but for the same reason as always, I think I would loose interest pretty fast. ( same as using an amiga 500 or console as apposed to c64 )

sitting on a bus journey and tapping away at Chips Challenge after updating a journal for instance.. I cant see myself getting board of this>>especially when there are so many games to play

_________________
Tentatively clicks SUBMIT and cringes..oh well, If you can handle C64 you can take a joke.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 8:56 am 
Offline
Techno Teaboy
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 12:24 am
Posts: 8
Location: Sheffield, UK
Get bored with it.....NEVER. I`ve had mine since its release. I take it everywhere, and its still just as fun as the first day I bought it.
If you`re gonna buy one, get the backlit version Its about £20 extra. 8)

Get One Here http://www.gbax.com/#gp32

_________________
Eeeee Heeee, Shamone Mofo !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 2:52 pm 
Offline
King of Zzap Towers
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 605
Location: UK
Getting bored of the GBA SP depends on the games you buy. IMO, there are several "classics", which are more than enough to waste a few hours of your time on regular occasions.

_________________
http://www.craiggrannell.com | http://www.projectnoise.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 3:27 pm 
Offline
Freelancer

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 5:17 am
Posts: 69
Location: AUSTRALIA
I'm still waiting for that for that ignorant wind-up merchant to deliver my Scanner and my dog is getting restless because Im spending alot of time playing Turrican 2 with my new friend CCS64 version 2 .

Didn't bother casting my vote in the poll because I havn't tryed using any of the other emulators.

Still not having any luck with Creatures 2.. I make it to the final loading screen and its there that the game freezes..( love the soundtrack though )

BUDOKAN has heaps of REALLY annoying bleepy scratchy noises which makes it not worth the effort :x

Would be interesting to hear about some of the Emulator problems others may have had and what the remedy was.... :?:

For instance : I found that making sure that gameport 1 was turned off in the "input" menu whilst playing T2 solved all the control problems I was having ( still cant get the joystick working for that game though )

_________________
Tentatively clicks SUBMIT and cringes..oh well, If you can handle C64 you can take a joke.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 4:28 pm 
Offline
Director
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 8:19 am
Posts: 460
Location: United Kingdom, Hartlepool
[quote="seanbags"

Would be interesting to hear about some of the Emulator problems others may have had and what the remedy was.... :?:

For instance : I found that making sure that gameport 1 was turned off in the "input" menu whilst playing T2 solved all the control problems I was having ( still cant get the joystick working for that game though )[/quote]

Again its a bit obvious, but have you tried changing over the joystick ports during play (IIRC its something like ALT & J)?

_________________
Contributor to Def Tribute to ZZAP!
Compilation64 - http://compilation64.zzap64.co.uk/
Crazy about the C64? - www.lemon64.com
Amiga Anguish? - www.lemonamiga.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group