The Def Guide to Zzap!64

The Zzap Rrap

It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 5:02 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HELP! Novice at work
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 12:31 pm 
Offline
Techno Teaboy

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 12:25 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Glasgow, UK
Downloaded CCS64 emulator at weekend onto my laptop, and been having a great time on games like Armalyte and Cybernoid II. Only problem is the lack of sound - ie NONE!. I've tried toggling the options on the C64 screen, but no luck so far.

Also whats the best way to get a joypad/joystick working as the keyboard just isn't the way games should be played. Got a PS joypad if that's any use.

Excuse my naivety, but like I say I'm a novice! cheers
:oops:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 12:41 pm 
Offline
Editor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 11:19 am
Posts: 376
Location: London
Alt + S into sound options. You got the right soundcard setup in there?

_________________
Another visitor... stay awhile... stay forever!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 12:54 pm 
Offline
Techno Teaboy

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 12:25 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Glasgow, UK
hmmm

not sure - is that in the Alt+S screen??


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 1:26 pm 
Offline
Techno Teaboy

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 11:53 am
Posts: 21
If you have a parallel port you can build an adapter which will let you use any C64 style 9 pin controller.

You can find out more details and download the driver here:

http://www.angelfire.com/retro/deonvdw/PPJoy.htm

It's quite easy to do. You can get the bits from Maplins for less than a fiver and you don't necessarily even need to do any soldering.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 2:40 pm 
Offline
Techno Teaboy

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 12:25 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Glasgow, UK
cheers Mayhem,

Just setup the CCS64 on my work PC and ALt+S shows a soundcard setup automatically for it, and behold the sound works OK with no tinkering required.

It seems strange with the Laptop as I can get sound normally through the small speaker on the front of the keyboard (whilst on AOL etc). I can't remember if I was able to toggle through different options on the 'Sound Device' option, but will try tonight.

Any ideas why this might be if I can't change the option???

:?: :?:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 12:02 am 
Offline
Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 6:42 pm
Posts: 2103
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Salem, re joystick interfaces, I've downloaded the software but which hardware interface do you need to build for Atari style joysticks?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 10:10 am 
Offline
Techno Teaboy

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 12:25 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Glasgow, UK
well, I tried last night on my laptop and was not able to get sound after all.

when in 'Options - Sound' (ALt+S) I can turn 'sound output' ON but cannot change 'sound device' from 'none' (unlike this PC where the soundcard toggles on)??????????????

am very confused!!!! :cry: :cry:

Strange thing is the SNES emulator works OK with sound???


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 1:35 pm 
Offline
Techno Teaboy

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 11:53 am
Posts: 21
iain wrote:
Salem, re joystick interfaces, I've downloaded the software but which hardware interface do you need to build for Atari style joysticks?


You can build any of them. I chose the LPT Joystick one because it looked like the easiest and it works. The CHAMPgames looks similarly easy. These are both for one joystick. If you need to use two at the same time, then go for the Amiga 4 Player or the Linux0802. I haven't tried these yet. The Amiga 4 Player is, as the name suggests, meant to be the same as the adaptors that allowed you to have 4 player games on an Amiga. If you happen to have one, you can use it with the driver without any modifications.

Only thing is, afaik none of the easy ones let you use autofire. If you want auto you might have to build one of the more difficult ones (with resistors).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 3:48 pm 
Offline
Freelancer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 5:00 pm
Posts: 72
I bet there's a resonable business to be made making all these adaptors. I'm suprised no-one's building them in bulk, there's enough people out there that'd like to use the old atari type joysticks (and ideally paddles!)

_________________
http://www.mastertronic.net


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group